At some point my heart turned.

I am pleased to declare the signs and miracles that the Most High God has done for me. “How great are His signs And how mighty are His miracles! His kingdom is an everlasting kingdom, And His dominion is from generation to generation. Daniel 4:2-3 (NASB)

I recalled the moment I made a vow to God. Him giving me eyes to see the needs of others not being addressed moved my heart to action. I stood there and with a pure heart I vowed, “God, if You give me a chance, I will make sure they see You”. He honored that vow and gave me great favor.

The king began speaking and was saying, ‘Is this not Babylon the great, which I myself have built as a royal residence by the might of my power and for the honor of my majesty?’ While the word was still in the king’s mouth, a voice came from heaven, saying, ‘King Nebuchadnezzar, to you it is declared: sovereignty has been removed from you, and you will be driven away from mankind, and your dwelling place will be with the animals of the field. You will be given grass to eat like cattle, and seven periods of time will pass over you until you recognize that the Most High is ruler over the realm of mankind and bestows it on whomever He wishes. Daniel 4:30-32

Just as Nebuchadnezzar had turned his heart from honoring the glory of God, my heart turned from using the space God had given me to honor Him and it became about comparison, money, and accolades. In taking my eyes off the King, I saw it all through the sins of my flesh. The lust of the flesh, lust of the eyes, and the pride of life will kill your witness every time. It strips away the purity of our intentions and silences our witness. And the Lord took it away.

In this moment, my heart cries, Lord take it all away! If it does not honor You, take it all away. Anything my heart exalts above You, take it all away. Even as I write, Your Holy Spirit speaks to me through a text from a friend, “…Fear God. Honor the King. 1 Peter 2:17” Although this scripture references a natural king, my heart interpreted it as the King of kings. Lord may my life give full reverence to You in all I do, for the rest of my days.

Worship with me: Take It All Away by Maverick City

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started